Digital Accessibility Standards

Mobile Accessibility Guidlines

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) has been the leader in Digital Accessibility Standards. Their work has been adopted by countless individuals, organizations, and governemnts around the world to ensure access to all.

Free and Open Resources

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG)

WCAG 2.0 is a sereies of guidlines publised by the W3C that covers a wide range of recommendations for making Web content more accessible. The goal of WCAG is to create a single shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally.

W3C WAI Mobile Accessibility Task Force: How WCAG 2.0 applies to Mobile

The W3C syas that mobile accessibility is covered in existing W3C WAI accessibility standards/guidelines, particularly WCAG and UAAG, which are introduced below. There are not separate guidelines for mobile accessibility. The mobile accessiblity task force is developing more specifc and updated guidance on mobile accessibility.

AQuA Accessibility Testing Criteria

The App Quality Alliance has created a set of Accessibility Testing Criteria intended to be used to check the accessibility of an application for users with limitations in one or more categories of vision, hearing, speech, dexterity and cognition on Android, iOS and Windows Devices.

Funka's Guidelines for the Development of Accessible Mobile Interfaces and Navigation

The project was based on our Guidelines for the Development of Accessible Mobile Interfaces that were developed in a project funded by The Swedish Internet Fund. These guidelines have been widely adopted internationally and translated into several languages.

BBC Standards and Guidelines for Mobile Accessibility

The BBC Standards and Guidelines for Mobile Accessibility are a set of technology agnostic best practices for mobile web content, hybrid and native apps. The tools is split up for User Expereience, Developers, Editors and Resources.

Proprietary Resources